Crux Australis

The Crux Australis is head of the Lochac College of Heralds, which is responsible for acting as the voice of the Crown and landed nobility, registering names and devices with the College of Arms, devising ceremonies and consulting on awards and other heraldic matters for the Crown of Lochac.

The current Crux Australis Principal Herald is Baron Domhnall na Moicheirghe.

Herald Badge

The Crux Australis is assisted by several deputies:

  • Astrolabe Herald:
  • Baryl Herald: emergency deputy to the Crux.
  • Bombarde Herald: responsible for ceremony and protocol.
  • Canon Herald: responsible for updating Lochac’s Order of Precedence (Canon Lore).
  • Coffyn Herald: responsible for special projects.
  • Mortar Herald: responsible for websites and software.
  • Rocket Herald: responsible for managing name and device submissions.
  • And, any other herald positions as appointed by the Crux.

The college also manages the name, device and badge submissions for the Kingdom, and Canon Lore (order of precedence – awards database). Linked to the heraldic submissions process, the Lochac Roll of Arms is a database of passed blazons and emblazons of individuals and groups in the Kingdom – a person project by Master William Castille.

The list of those individuals who have served as Crux Australis are presented in the table below.

Name Term
Master Hrolf Herjolfssen Jan 1983 to Jul 1984
Master Þorfinn Hrolfsson Jul 1984 to April 1988
Master Gereint Scholar April 1988 to Jan 1991
Decion ap Dyfrwr Trefriw Jan 1991 to Jan 1993
Master Peter the Uncertain Jan 1993 to Jan 1995
Lord Tancred Enrico di Castrogiovanni Jan 1995 to Dec 1995
The Honourable Lord Thomas Flamanc of Kelsale Dec 1995 to Oct 1997
Mistress Aislinn de Valence Oct 1997 to Oct 1999
The Honourable Baron Uberto Renaldi Oct 1999 to Jul 2002
Lord Giles Leabrook Jul 2002 to Feb 2004
Lady Sabine du Bourbonnais (acting) April 2004 to Sep 2004
Lord Wakeline de Foxley Sep 2004 to Sep 2006
The Honourable Lord William Castille Sep 2006 to May 2009
Baroness Massaria da Cortona May 2009 to Feb 2010
Lady Eleyne de Comnocke (acting) Feb 2010 to April 2010
Mistress Tamsyn Northover April 2010 to Sep 2012
Baron Karl Faustus von Aachen Sep 2012 to Nov 2014
Baron Domhnall na Moicheirghe Nov 2014 to present